Biniali since the 17th century
After the village of Sencelles, Biniali, is the second village of the district with the largest number of inhabitants of around 250
The first settlers date back to prehistoric times, as up to eight archaeological sites have been discovered, among them the Cova Monja, a settlement with important talayotic remains.
However, the current name of Biniali comes from the Arabic Bânû Alî, an old Arab hamlet, located to the west of Sencelles. It was a hamlet that was dedicated to wine production until the end of the 19th century but went into decline due to a phylloxera plague that caused depopulation and rural exodus.
Its constitution as a town dates back to the end of the 17th century, when the construction of the first chapel was requested in 1671.
What not to miss in Biniali
San Cristobal's Parish Church
Declared an Asset of Cultural Interest with the category of Historic Site, Biniali has buildings of singular architectural beauty such as San Cristobal's Parish Church and adjacent buildings such as the Rectory, the houses of Can Grau, Sa Clastra or Son Raió, as well as the picturesque local cemetery.
Outside the town center, you can visit the Pou de Biniali (Biniali's well), the monument to the Immaculate Conception or the mill of Can Xisco or Cas Moliner, an old structure used for flour milling.